This is the "Databases" page of the "Databases by Subject" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Class Schedule Search A to Z Index Enrollment Services Financial Aid Programs Workforce Ecucation Athletics About Alumni Shoreline Community College Home

Databases by Subject   Tags: library  

Last Updated: Jun 9, 2014 URL: http://shoreline.libguides.com/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases A-Z

General/Interdisciplinary

The databases below cover a wide range of topics and subjects and are great starting points for finding articles from academic journals, magazines and newspapers.

  • ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE  Icon
  • PROQUEST  Icon
  • JSTOR  Icon
  • SIRS  Icon
  • eLIBRARY  Icon
  • CQ RESEARCHER  Icon
    Original, comprehensive weekly reporting and analysis by seasoned journalists on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Includes introductory overview, background and chronology, current assessment, tables, maps; pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key sources.
  • back to the top

Arts & Literature

  • ACLS HUMANITIES E-BOOKS  Icon
    A digital collection of fully searchable high-quality peer-reviewed books on the Humanities.
  • ARTSTOR  Icon
    Access to 1 million digital images of visual material from different cultures and disciplines. If ArtSTOR is not working please upgrade you browser - ArtSTOR is no longer compatible with IE 6, Firefox 2.5, and Safari 2.5.
  • CLASSICAL MUSIC LIBRARY  Icon
    Access to the world's largest collection of Classical music including: vocal and choral music, chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental opera and more from the earliest periods to present.
  • JAZZ MUSIC LIBRARY  Icon
    Access to the largest and most comprehensive collection of Jazz including: Jazz artists, albums, sub-genres and record labels.
  • ROCK'S BACK PAGES  Icon
    17,000+ interviews, features, reviews and blogs covering rock, soul, with a little old classic and new country thrown in. Articles date from the 1950's 'til today. Magazines covered include Creem, Rolling Stone, Melody Maker, Crawdaddy and Mojo magazines among others. In addition to the many articles there are lots of pictures and some audio interviews.
  • THEATRE IN VIDEO  Icon
    Access more than 250 definitive play performances and 100 film documentaries totaling more than 500 hours of streaming video and information on hundreds of playwrights, actors and directors.
  • back to the top

Automotive Repair

  • ALLDATA AUTOMOTIVE DATABASE
    Access to information on automotive: parts, diagnostic, and repairs for hundreds of makes and models. ACCESSIBLE ON CAMPUS ONLY. ONLY WORKS ON FIREFOX AND INTERNET EXPLORER.
  • back to the top

Business & Economics

Education

  • ERIC
    Education Resources Information Resource Center (ERIC) provides free access to 1.2 million+ records of education journals and articles. Sponsored by: U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
  • back to the top

Government & Law

  • CQ RESEARCHER  Icon
    Original, comprehensive weekly reporting and analysis by seasoned journalists on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Includes introductory overview, background and chronology, current assessment, tables, maps; pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key sources.
  • JSTOR  Icon
    Access full-text articles from over 400 peer-reviewed arts and sciences journals. JSTOR is an archival database and generally does not contain current issues – gaps range from 1 to 5 years.
  • VERSUS LAW  Icon
    Access to archive and current opinions from: U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Circuit Courts of Appeals, Federal District Courts (current only), State Appellate Court, Tribal Courts, Foreign Courts, archive and current Federal District Court opinions, selected State Statutes and Regs, and other State Content.
  • back to the top

Health & Medicine

  • ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE  Icon
    A multi-disciplinary database providing access to thousands of journals, including full-text for more than most of the peer-reviewed titles.
  • CINAHL FULL TEXT  Icon
    Access to more than 610 peer-reviewed journals and full-text articles for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
  • PsycArticles  Icon
    Scholarly articles from the field of psychology. It has over 80 psychological journals. **Watch a How To Search PsycArticles on YouTube from Seminole State.**
  • PUBMED
    A service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's, additional life science journals and links to many sites with full-text articles.
  • back to the top

Jobs & Career

  • WOIS CAREER INFORMATION
    WOIS is a private, nonprofit organization that researches and distributes information about Washington careers, schools and training programs. ACCESSIBLE ON CAMPUS ONLY.
  • back to the top

News & Media

  • Proquest Newspapers  Icon
    Includes Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post and Western Newsstand, which includes major Washington State Newspapers except the Seattle Times.
  • New York Times Historical  Icon
    This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. 1851-2009

Science & Technology

  • ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE  Icon
    A multi-disciplinary database providing access to thousands of journals, including full-text for most of the peer-reviewed titles.
  • ARXIVE
    An open access repository of scientific literature sponsored by Cornell University.
  • A TO Z MAPS ONLINE
    AtoZ Maps Online.com's diverse holdings make it a valuable resource for students of all disciplines. The database includes outline maps, political maps, physical maps, thematic maps, climate change maps, environment maps, historic maps, hurricane maps, earthquake maps, volcano maps, fire maps, animal and plant species distribution maps, current event maps, geology maps, topographic maps, and weather maps.
  • PUBLIC LIBRARY OF SCIENCE
    An open access publisher of peer-reviewed medicine and biological science journals – everything is freely available to the public.
  • back to the top

Social Issues & Culture

  • CQ RESEARCHER PLUS ARCHIVE  Icon
    CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
  • CULTUREGRAMS
    Access general information about the, U.S., countries and cultures from around the globe, including maps, statistics, societal trends, and even recipes.
  • ENCYCLOPEDIA OF HUMAN RIGHTS  Icon
    The five-volume Encyclopedia of Human Rights, edited by David Forsythe, offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.
  • WOMEN AND SOCIAL MOVEMENTS  Icon
    Women and Social Movements features the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
  • back to the top

Streaming Video

  • THE PBS VIDEO COLLECTION  Icon
    The PBS Video Collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
  • back to the top

© 2012 Shoreline Community College  •  16101 Greenwood Avenue North  •  Shoreline, WA 98133-5696  •  Tel: 206-546-4101  •  Fax: 206-546-4630

Map & Directions  |  Hours of Operation  |  Accreditation  |  Mission  |  Privacy & Non-Discrimination  |  Jobs  |  Faculty/Staff

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip