This is the "Start here!" page of the "Find Encyclopedias & Background" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Class Schedule Search A to Z Index Enrollment Services Financial Aid Programs Workforce Ecucation Athletics About Alumni Shoreline Community College Home

Find Encyclopedias & Background   Tags: library  

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2014 URL: http://shoreline.libguides.com/encyclopedias Print Guide RSS Updates
Start here! Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library from Shoreline Community College  
      
      Icon  Icon
    We have full-text encyclopedias online. **Watch a video tutorial about GVRL.**
  • Encyclopedia of Gender in Media  Icon
    The media strongly influences our everyday notions of gender roles and our concepts of gender identity. The Encyclopedia of Gender in Media critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society. The work addresses a variety of entertainment and news content in print and electronic media and explores the social construction of masculinity as well as femininity. In addition to representations of gender within the media, we also analyze gender issues related to media ownership and the media workforce.
  • Encyclopedia of Human Rights  Icon
    The five-volume Encyclopedia of Human Rights, edited by David Forsythe, offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.
  • Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy: A Peer-Reviewed Academic Resource
    The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia receives no funding, and operates through the volunteer work of the editors, which consists of editors, authors, volunteers, and technical advisers. At present the IEP is visited by over 500,000 persons per month.
  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    From the description: "Welcome to the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP). From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research.:
  • Oxford English Dictionary  Icon
    The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

    As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from those of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find these in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books.

Other Background

  • CQ Researcher  Icon
    Original, comprehensive weekly reporting and analysis by seasoned journalists on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
  • SIRS  Icon
    Contains newspaper and magazine articles on a range of subjects.
  • eLibrary  Icon
    A diverse collection of information on a variety of areas including: books, TV news transcripts, newspapers, maps, photograph collections and full-text articles from popular reference books.
 

Some Print Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Addiction - Howard Padwa (Editor); Jacob Cunningham (Editor)
Call Number: REF 616.86 A224
ISBN: 9781598842296
Publication Date: 2010-01-01

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present - Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: 973.0496 E56
ISBN: 9780195167795
Publication Date: 2009-02-02

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media - Jeffrey Jensen Arnett (Editor)
Call Number: REF 302.2308 E56
ISBN: 9781412905305
Publication Date: 2006-12-14

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste - Carl A. Zimring (Editor); William L. Rathje (Editor)
Call Number: REF 363.728 E56
ISBN: 9781412988193
Publication Date: 2012-02-27

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Disasters - Angus M. Gunn (Editor)
Call Number: REF 904 G976
ISBN: 9780313340024
Publication Date: 2007-12-01

© 2012 Shoreline Community College  •  16101 Greenwood Avenue North  •  Shoreline, WA 98133-5696  •  Tel: 206-546-4101  •  Fax: 206-546-4630

Map & Directions  |  Hours of Operation  |  Accreditation  |  Mission  |  Privacy & Non-Discrimination  |  Jobs  |  Faculty/Staff

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip