This is the "Web Sites for Quick Information" page of the "Frequently Used Web Sites for Quick Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Class Schedule Search A to Z Index Enrollment Services Financial Aid Programs Workforce Ecucation Athletics About Alumni Shoreline Community College Home

Frequently Used Web Sites for Quick Information  

These are general reference sites that many people find useful.
Last Updated: Jul 30, 2012 URL: http://shoreline.libguides.com/generalreference Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Web Sites for Quick Information Print Page
  Search: 
 

Frequently Used Web Sites for Quick Information

  • Acronym Finder
    "With more than 1,000,000 human-edited definitions, Acronym Finder is the world's largest and most comprehensive dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. Combined with the Acronym Attic, Acronym Finder contains more than 5 million acronyms and abbreviations."
  • Merriam Webster Dictionary
    Free online dictionary.
  • The Free Dictionary
    Includes various foreign languages.
  • Bigfoot Directories
    Phone and email directories.
  • Escape Artists
    Zip and postal codes of the world.
  • Infobel.
    A comprehensive international residential and business telephone directory featuring most countries in the world.
  • United States Postal Service
    Is the primary govenment agency for providing postal services in the United States. Get shipping rates, stamps, print postage, track packages and look up a zip code.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    The standard for encyclopeadic reference with 55 million words and just over 100,000 articles, Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to some of their content and material for free through this site. For the full version, come to the library.
  • USA.gov
    As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. USA.gov also serves as the catalyst for a growing electronic government.
  • CIA World Factbook
    "The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map."
  • Google Maps
    A web mapping service application and technology provided by Google for free which offers street maps, a route planner for traveling by foot, car, or public transport and an urban business locator for numerous countries around the world.
  • Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
    A map collection from the University of Texas that represents one of the largest compilations of online maps in the world. Includes historical maps as well as present-day info.
  • Fedstats
    FedStats provides access to statistical information collected by U.S. Government agencies on an astounding array of topics (from alcohol consumption by state to unemployment to income to transportation).
  • Government Printing Office (GPO)
    The mission of the Government Printing Office (GPO)is to keep America informed by making the information from the three branches of Government available to all Americans. The GPO provides publishing and dissemination services for the official and authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries and the American public.
  • The Census
    The U.S. Census Bureau is the government agency responsible for the United States Census. It also gathers other national demographic and economic data.
  • Conversion of Units
    A conversion tool for changing metric units into English equivalents and vice-versa created and hosted by the Department of Chemistry at the University of Berlin.
  • The World Clock--Time Zones
    Timeanddate.com provides times from around the world.
  • Universal Currency Converter
    "Perform currency and foreign exchange calculations using live, mid-market rates. The Universal Currency Converter® contains the top 85 currencies listing the top 10 first. Special units & precious metals are listed alphabetically and at the end. For every world currency, use the Full Universal Currency Converter. Learn about currency codes, or view our list of currency symbols. For help, read our instructions."

© 2012 Shoreline Community College  •  16101 Greenwood Avenue North  •  Shoreline, WA 98133-5696  •  Tel: 206-546-4101  •  Fax: 206-546-4630

Map & Directions  |  Hours of Operation  |  Accreditation  |  Mission  |  Privacy & Non-Discrimination  |  Jobs  |  Faculty/Staff

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip