This is the "Media Services for Faculty" page of the "Instructional Media" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Class Schedule Search A to Z Index Enrollment Services Financial Aid Programs Workforce Ecucation Athletics About Alumni Shoreline Community College Home

Instructional Media   Tags: library  

Last Updated: Jan 8, 2013 URL: http://shoreline.libguides.com/instructionalmedia Print Guide RSS Updates

Media Services for Faculty Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Equipment in Classrooms

  • Most classrooms already have equipment installed in them. Please check your classroom for installed equipment.

  • We can not deliver equipment to classrooms that already have equipment in them.

  • If you are not familiar with the operation of the equipment in your classrooms please call Larry Cheng at 206 546-4592, to schedule a demo. All classrooms come equipped with an Overhead Projector.

  • You can view a video of Smart Classrom operation by clicking here.

  • Keys for the Media cabinets in the classrooms are available from Division Secretaries.

 

Scheduling Equipment

  • Equipment can be requested by e-mail at media@shoreline.edu, by phone at 206 546-4721 or in person at the Media Circulation counter.

  • All requests must be in by Noon (12:00 pm) the day before needed, request for Mondays or the Weekends must be in by Noon on Friday.

 

Media Collections

  • RESERVE COLLECTION - Faculty may place media materials, either from our collections or from your own personal collection. Reserve periods of 2 hour, 4 hour, 1 day, 2 day, 3 day and 1 week reserve periods are avaliable.
  • CLOSED COLLECTION - Educational videos and DVDs - 1 week check-out period.
  • OPEN COLLECTIONS - Mainly entertainment videos and DVDs - 1 week check-out period.
  • MUSIC CD COLLECTION - Music CDs from many genres - 1 week check-out period.
  • LOCAL COLLECTION - Produced recordings of on campus events - 1 week check-out period.

 

Media Duplication

Media Services has the capability to duplicate many forms of media. We can only duplicate those items for which you or we have the legal rights to copy. If the material is copyrighted and no one has written permission from the publisher to duplicate the item we can not duplicate it. Items for personal use will be charged a fee.

Please e-mail at media@shoreline.edu or call 206 546-4721 for more information.

 

Media Maintenance

TSS Help Line - 206-546-5872
Paul Fernandez - 206 546-4530
  • SERVICE REQUESTS - Please report any problems with media equipment as soon as possible to the TSS Help Line or the Media Maintenance Technician.
  • Please report burnt out bulb in any projector as soon as possible.  
  • OVERHEAD PROJECTORS - All classrooms come equipped with Overhead Projectors, most have a second bulb, which can be changed to when the first one burns out. To change the bulb, slide the lever, on one end or the other, of the projector into second position.
 

Media Services Coordinator

Larry Cheng  - 206 546-4592 - lcheng@shoreline.edu

  • Demos and Training are available if you are not familiar with the operation of the media equipment in your classrooms, or need to know how to operate certain media equipment, please call or e-mail Larry Cheng, to schedule a demonstration or training.
  • If you have any questions about Media Services please contact the Media Services Coordinator, Larry Cheng.
 

Media Lab

The New Media Lab is a place where the campus community can explore new and emerging technologies. It is a partnership between the Library/Media, TSS and eLearning that will empower the campus by facilitating access to innovative media technologies for use in teaching, learning and research.

Located on the ground floor of the Library/Technology Center in room #4106, the space has the hardware and software that will allow for training, experimentation, sharing and just plain fooling around.

The lab contains ten new high-powered computers featuring: The lab contains one Mac Pro-5 desktop and eleven new high-powered PCs with webcams, stereo headsets/microphones and scanners. A partial list of installed software follows:

  • OS X (10) and Vista Operating Systems
  • Final Cut Express HD/Pinnacle Studio Ultimate version 12 (Video editing and production suites)
  • Microsoft Office 2007
  • Photo Shop Elements 7.0 (Photo editing and image file conversion)
  • Google Earth
  • OmniPage Pro 14 OCR (Optical Character Recognition software to convert hard copies to computer files)
  • iTunes (Podcasts, general synchronization between iPod and PC)
  • Camtasia Studio 6 (Screen and sound capture software for recording, editing and producing movie files for Web and optical discs; Can also produce Podcasts)
  • Sony Cyberlink BD Solution (Blu-ray, DVD and CD burning and playback utilities)
  • Polycom PVX (Internet based two way live video conferencing)
  • LessonBuilder by SoftChalk (Editor/creator of interactive eLearning lessons)
  • Second Life (Online virtual world)
  • Jing (A stripped down, free version of Camtasia Studio)

© 2012 Shoreline Community College  •  16101 Greenwood Avenue North  •  Shoreline, WA 98133-5696  •  Tel: 206-546-4101  •  Fax: 206-546-4630

Map & Directions  |  Hours of Operation  |  Accreditation  |  Mission  |  Privacy & Non-Discrimination  |  Jobs  |  Faculty/Staff

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip