- Library Home
- Before You Go
- Shoreline Home
It is a discovery tool that indexes library databases so you get a search result across the world of library resources. Use the Ray Howard Library One Search to find teaching resources, professional development, and your own research. It is our new, more inclusive universal search box that makes searching library resources more like using Google. You might not notice a difference, since you can still search for books and ebooks, streaming and dvd films, and cd music. But now you can also find articles from databases and other free but vetted resources using one search box. Some databases are not included in One Search, and you can still search them separately. Many universities and colleges also use this tool, so transfer students are already preparing for university experience while at Shoreline Community College.
Start at the library's home page
In the One Search box, type in search terms that describe your topic.
Skim through the results list to decide how you want to filter it.
Once you find a resource you would like to look at, click the title to learn more about it.
With new software, there are likely to be problems and opportunities. Report issues you encounter and ideas for improvement here.
This all-in-one search box finds a variety of materials in many of our resources at once, saving time and organizing search results in one place.
These are the databases that are searched all at once:
Some resources show up in the results of One Search that are independent of our database subscriptions. Here are some of those sources that are automatically searched when you use One Search. However, we do not own access to all of these. This means that you and your students may discover resources that are not available through the Ray Howard Library. Some of these are open access databases, so you and your students can access them for free. For articles from other databases, you will be able, in many cases, to order copies through Interlibrary Loan.
Start at the library home page.
Type the title into the box
Choose the format you would like to use.
Stick to embedding a link to an article, rather than uploading a copy of the work, in order to comply with copyright law. Look for something called a permalink, link,or bookmark, rather than copying the address from the top bar. You generally cannot use the address from the top bar because those change and the database won't remember them, causing your students to get an error message. Once you locate the permalink, insert the link into your Canvas classroom. Here's an example of finding a permalink in Ebscohost Academic Search Complete:
Once you locate the permalink, insert the link into your Canvas classroom.
Here's an example from Gale Ebooks. They call it a bookmark, rather than a permalink.
Here's an example from Proquest Ebook Central. They call it a link.
Use our series of three (3) Youtube videos for a flipped classroom instruction model.
We are currently at work on Canvas modules you can drop into your course that focus on concepts in using information as well as the mechanics of One Search.
If you teach in Chemistry, Communication Studies, English, or Multicultural Studies, please contact us for library workshops in series of 3-8 sessions.
Librarians can work with you one on one to master One Search, or other library resources.