Disability Awareness: Websites

Through US Dept. of Eduction, Bookshare is an online library of accessible reading materials for people with disabilities.  Individuals can sign up for membership and access the library on their own. Organizations that serve individuals with disabilities (schools, libraries, community centers, etc.) can sign up and provide access to their students or clients.  Membership includes unlimited access to accessible books, textbooks, newspapers and magazines.

• ADA Homepage: The ADA prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in employment, programs and services provided by state and local governments, goods and services provided by private companies, and in commercial facilities; this U.S. Department of Justice site includes information on regulations, assistance materials, enforcement, mediation, and settlements
• CODI - Cornucopia of Disability Information: Maintained by the Center for Assistive Technology, New York University at Buffalo serves as a community resource for consumers and professionals by providing disability information in a wide variety of areas; the information addresses national and international audiences; areas include education, statistics, government documents, computer access, legal, publications, bibliographic references, aging, assistive technology, universal design and announcements
• Open Directory - Society: Disabled: A large collection of webpages on disability including topics such as assistive technologies, camps, legislation, disability studies, therapy, rehabilitation, library standards for service to patrons with disabilities, etc.
• NARIC: National Rehabilitation Information Center: Funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR) to serve anyone, professional or lay person, who is interested in disability and rehabilitation, including consumers, family members, health professionals, educators, rehabilitation counselors, students, librarians, administrators, and researchers; five searchable, browsable databases are available
• Social Security Online - Disability Programs: This site contains public information for patients, families, students, physicians, scientists, and therapists; a large list of links related to orthopaedics is included
• Yahoo: This collection of webpages on disability includes topics such as assistive technologies, camps, legislation, disability studies, therapy, rehabilitation, library standards for service to patrons with disabilities, etc.

• SCI_Train: SciTrain is a research initiative to train high school math and science teachers to be more effective instructors for students with disabilities.
• DO-IT: This relatively low-tech, award-winning site from the University of Washington focuses on universal accessibility; links are listed under academics, careers, programs, technology and resources
• Disability: Human Resources and the Internet: Offers links to disability-related websites; maintained by Cornell University
• U.S. Access Board: The Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board: The Board, created in 1973, has served the nation as the only independent federal agency whose primary mission is accessibility for people with disabilities

• assistivetech.net: Created by the Georgia Tech Center for Assistive Technology and Environmental Access this site provides access to information on assistive technology devices and services as well as other community resources for people with disabilities and the general public
• CODI - Cornucopia of Disability Information: Maintained by the Center for Assistive Technology, New York University at Buffalo serves as a community resource for consumers and professionals by providing disability information in a wide variety of areas; the information addresses national and international audiences; areas include education, statistics, government documents, computer access, legal, publications, bibliographic references, aging, assistive technology, universal design and announcements
• DO-IT: This relatively low-tech, award-winning site from the University of Washington focuses on universal accessibility; links are listed under academics, careers, programs, technology and resources
• Open Directory - Society: Disabled: A large collection of webpages on disability including topics such as assistive technologies, camps, legislation, disability studies, therapy, rehabilitation, library standards for service to patrons with disabilities, etc.
• The Job Accommodation Network (JAN): Located at the University of West Virginia, this is not a job placement service, but an international toll-free consulting service that provides information about job accommodations and the employability of people with disabilities; JAN also provides information regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
• Yahoo: This collection of webpages on disability includes topics such as assistive technologies, camps, legislation, disability studies, therapy, rehabilitation, library standards for service to patrons with disabilities, etc.

• Films Involving Disabilities: This British site presents a detailed list of 2,500 feature films which involve various disabilities in one way or another; search by title or browse by type of disability

Radio broadcasts

• BBC’s Ouch! This Web site from the British Broadcasting Company (BBC) features news, blogs, podcasts, and interviews by and for all those interested in contemporary issues facing those with disabilities.
• Beyond Affliction: The Disability History Project A radio program by producer Laurie Block was the result of her interest in media portrayals of people with disabilities. The site and program are sponsored by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. Portions of the shows may be viewed on the site, and tapes and transcripts of the shows may be ordered. The site also contains photos and other primary source material connected to the project.
• Greg Smith's On A Roll Talk Radio on Life and Disability: Greg Smith is the founder of On A Roll, the first and only live weekly syndicated commercial radio talk show on life and disability; Greg's programming philosophy is to present information, resources and topics for discussion that are universally empowering, universally entertaining, and particularly applicable to the lives of people with disabilities

Blogs

• ADA Homepage: The ADA prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in employment, programs and services provided by state and local governments, goods and services provided by private companies, and in commercial facilities; this U.S. Department of Justice site includes information on regulations, assistance materials, enforcement, mediation, and settlements
• DO-IT: This award-winning site from the University of Washington focuses on universal accessibility; links are listed under academics, careers, programs, technology and resources
• Open Directory - Society: Disabled: A large collection of webpages on disability including topics such as assistive technologies, camps, legislation, disability studies, therapy, rehabilitation, library standards for service to patrons with disabilities, etc.
• Disability: Human Resources and the Internet: Offers links to disability-related websites; maintained by Cornell University
• The Job Accommodation Network (JAN): Located at the University of West Virginia, this is not a job placement service, but an international toll-free consulting service that provides information about job accommodations and the employability of people with disabilities; JAN also provides information regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
• Office of Disability Employment Policy: The mission of this agency is to communicate, coordinate and promote public and private efforts to enhance the employment of people with disabilities; the Committee provides information, training, and technical assistance to America's business leaders, organized labor, rehabilitation and service providers, advocacy organizations, families and individuals with disabilities
• Yahoo: This collection of webpages on disability includes topics such as assistive technologies, camps, legislation, disability studies, therapy, rehabilitation, library standards for service to patrons with disabilities, etc.
• WorkSource Seattle-King County: WorkSource is a statewide partnership of government, education, and community organizations that offers a unique resource for businesses and job seekers: a “one-stop” for career development and human resources support. WorkSource incorporates employment services, skills training, and community services all in one package.