| Type | Book |
|---|---|
| Author | Helen E. Fisher |
| Publisher | Random House, Inc. |
| Date | 1994-01-03 |
| # of Pages | 430 |
| ISBN | 0449908976, 9780449908976 |
| URL | https://books.google.com/books? id=f5aTEuku_S0C&… |
| Library Catalog | Google Books |
| Date Added | Sat Apr 3 21:32:34 2010 |
| Modified | Sat Apr 3 21:33:09 2010 |
| Type | Journal Article |
|---|---|
| Author | Deborah A. Abowitz |
| Author | David Knox |
| Author | Marty Zusman |
| Author | Andrea Mcneely |
| Abstract | Three-hundred-and-twenty six undergraduates at a large southeastern university completed an anonymous 74-item questionnaire designed to assess beliefs about men, women, and relationships. Significant differences between men's and women's beliefs about romantic relationships were found on eight of 14 items. Men were significantly more likely to believe that cohabitation improves marriage, that bars are good places to meet a potential mate, that men control relationships, and that people will "cheat" if they feel they will not be caught. In contrast, women were significantly more likely to believe that love is more important than factors like age and race in choosing a mate, that couples stop "trying" after they marry, and that women know when their men are lying. Implications and limitations of the data are suggested. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR] |
| Publication | College Student Journal |
| Volume | 43 |
| Issue | 2 |
| Pages | 276-284 |
| Date | June 2009 |
| DOI | Article |
| ISSN | 01463934 |
| Short Title | BELIEFS ABOUT ROMANTIC RELATIONSHIPS |
| URL | https://www.shoreline.edu:2218/.aspx? direct=true&db=aph&… |
| Accessed | Sat Apr 3 21:11:05 2010 |
| Library Catalog | EBSCOhost |
| Date Added | Sat Apr 3 21:11:05 2010 |
| Modified | Sun Apr 18 14:08:06 2010 |
Accession Number: 42517476; Abowitz, Deborah A. 1; Email Address: dabowitz@bucknell.edu Knox, David 2 Zusman, Marty 3 Mcneely, Andrea 4; Affiliation: 1: Bucknell University 2: East Carolina University 3: Indiana University Northwest 4: University of Virginia; Source Info: Jun2009, Vol. 43 Issue 2, p276; Subject Term: INTERPERSONAL relations; Subject Term: RESEARCH; Subject Term: COLLEGE students -- United States; Subject Term: MAN-woman relationships; Subject Term: AMERICANS; Subject Term: MARRIAGE; Subject Term: LOVE; Subject Term: SOUTHEASTERN University (Washington, D.C.); Subject Term: WASHINGTON (D.C.); Subject Term: UNITED States; Number of Pages: 9p; Illustrations: 1 Chart; Document Type: Article; Full Text Word Count: 3527
Copyright of College Student Journal is the property of Project Innovation, Inc. and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
| Type | Journal Article |
|---|---|
| Author | Elijah Mickel |
| Author | Cecilia Hall |
| Abstract | This article is a continuation of the article that appeared in the Spring 2008 issue of this Journal Need fulfillment is a process which is operationalized through behaviors. Each person must meet his or her basic needs. A significant relationship is need fulfilling and expressed through the strength of the connection between mind, body and spirit. The more balanced these components, the more reflective of need fulfillment is the relationship. In order to be loving, one must love oneself. In order to love oneself, one needs to responsibly meet one's needs. In order to develop the significant relationship, one must contribute to the other's picture of significance. The relationship if it is to succeed must be need fulfilling. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR] |
| Publication | International Journal of Reality Therapy |
| Volume | 28 |
| Issue | 2 |
| Pages | 24-27 |
| Date | Spring2009 2009 |
| DOI | Article |
| ISSN | 10997717 |
| Short Title | Choosing to Love |
| URL | https://search.ebscohost.com/.aspx? direct=true&db=aph&… |
| Accessed | Sat Apr 3 21:12:40 2010 |
| Library Catalog | EBSCOhost |
| Date Added | Sat Apr 3 21:12:40 2010 |
| Modified | Sat Apr 3 21:12:40 2010 |
Accession Number: 39992644; Mickel, Elijah 1 Hall, Cecilia 1; Affiliation: 1: Delaware State University, Dover Delaware; Source Info: Spring2009, Vol. 28 Issue 2, p24; Subject Term: LOVE; Subject Term: BASIC needs; Subject Term: INTERPERSONAL relations; Subject Term: MIND & body therapies; Subject Term: SPIRITS; Subject Term: HUMAN behavior; Number of Pages: 4p; Document Type: Article
Copyright of International Journal of Reality Therapy is the property of International Journal of Reality Therapy and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
| Type | Encyclopedia Article |
|---|---|
| Author | CLYDE HENDRICK |
| Author | SUSAN S. HENDRICK |
| Editor | James J. Ponzetti |
| Encyclopedia Title | International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family |
| Volume | 3 |
| Edition | 2 |
| Place | New York |
| Publisher | Macmillan Reference USA |
| Date | 2003 |
| URL | https://ezproxy.shoreline.edu/?url=https://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do? id=GALE|CX3406900277&… |
| Extra | 1059-1065 |
| Date Added | Thu Mar 11 14:23:15 2010 |
| Modified | Thu Mar 11 14:51:47 2010 |
COPYRIGHT 2003 Macmillan Reference USA, COPYRIGHT 2006 Gale, Cengage Learning
| Type | Encyclopedia Article |
|---|---|
| Author | David P. Barash |
| Editor | Fewa Malti-Douglas |
| Encyclopedia Title | Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender |
| Volume | 3 |
| Place | Detroit |
| Publisher | Macmillan Reference USA |
| Date | 2007 |
| URL | https://ezproxy.shoreline.edu/?url=https://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do? id=GALE|CX2896200434&… |
| Extra | 1032 |
| Date Added | Thu Mar 11 14:40:43 2010 |
| Modified | Thu Mar 11 14:45:53 2010 |
COPYRIGHT 2007 The Gale Group
| Type | Encyclopedia Article |
|---|---|
| Author | LEA P. STEWART |
| Editor | Jorge Reina Schement |
| Encyclopedia Title | Encyclopedia of Communication and Information |
| Volume | 3 |
| Place | New York |
| Publisher | Macmillan Reference USA |
| Date | 2002 |
| URL | https://ezproxy.shoreline.edu/?url=https://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do? id=GALE|CX3402900242&… |
| Extra | 876 |
| Date Added | Thu Mar 11 15:48:46 2010 |
| Modified | Thu Mar 11 15:49:10 2010 |
COPYRIGHT 2001 Macmillan Reference USA, COPYRIGHT 2006 Gale, Cengage Learning
| Type | Journal Article |
|---|---|
| Author | Scott F. Madey |
| Author | Lindsey Rodgers |
| Abstract | We investigated the association between attachment and intimacy, passion, and commitment proposed in Sternberg's Triangular Theory of Love on relationship satisfaction. Fifty-five university undergraduates who were in romantic relationships completed the Relationship Scales Questionnaire (Griffin & Bartholomew, 1994) and Sternberg's Triangular Theory of Love Scale (Sternberg, 1988). Hierarchical regression analyses revealed that the association between secure attachment and relationship satisfaction is mediated by commitment and intimacy. However, when controlling for passion, secure attachment and passion each provided direct paths to relationship satisfaction. These findings are discussed in relation to the Triangular Theory of Love, and the function of attachment, caregiving, and sexual systems as these systems impact relationship satisfaction. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR] |
| Publication | Individual Differences Research |
| Volume | 7 |
| Issue | 2 |
| Pages | 76-84 |
| Date | June 2009 |
| DOI | Article |
| ISSN | 1541745X |
| URL | https://search.ebscohost.com/.aspx? direct=true&db=aph&… |
| Accessed | Sat Apr 3 21:11:39 2010 |
| Library Catalog | EBSCOhost |
| Date Added | Sat Apr 3 21:11:39 2010 |
| Modified | Sat Apr 3 21:11:39 2010 |
Accession Number: 43255691; Madey, Scott F. 1; Email Address: sfmade@ship.edu Rodgers, Lindsey 1; Affiliation: 1: Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania; Source Info: Jun2009, Vol. 7 Issue 2, p76; Subject Term: LOVE; Subject Term: UNDERGRADUATES; Subject Term: INTERPERSONAL relations; Subject Term: REGRESSION analysis; Subject Term: SOCIAL bonds; Number of Pages: 9p; Illustrations: 3 Charts; Document Type: Article
Copyright of Individual Differences Research is the property of IDR Publishing and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use. This abstract may be abridged. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material for the full abstract. (Copyright applies to all Abstracts.)
| Type | Book |
|---|---|
| Author | Robert Sternberg |
| Place | New Haven |
| Publisher | Yale University Press |
| Date | 1988 |
| ISBN | 9780300039504 |
| URL | https://books.google.com/books? id=HuFB9FvpffgC&… |
| Date Added | Sat Apr 3 21:27:14 2010 |
| Modified | Sat Apr 3 21:28:27 2010 |
