Ray W. Howard Library: Social Justice & Human Rights: Disability Rights

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Our most comprehensive collection for scholarly articles. Find magazine, newspaper, journal articles and more on a full range of topics.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
The five-volume Encyclopedia of Human Rights, edited by David Forsythe, offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

Related Learning Guides

Disability Awareness
Library resources about disabilities of all kinds: physical, psychological and emotional
Mental Health and Social Resources
Local and National Mental Health Resources, Social Services resources.

Disability Rights

Source: The Organization of American States. (2013). Secretary General Receives the Secretary of State for the Integration of Persons with Disabilities of Haiti [Digital Image]. Flickr. Retrieved from https://flic.kr/p/dXZdyv

Image License: CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

Organizations

Disability Rights Washington (DRW)
DRW is a private non-profit organization that "protects the rights of people with disabilities statewide." Their mission is "to advance the dignity, equality, and self-determination of people with disabilities" by working "to pursue justice on matters related to human and legal rights."
Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund (DREDF)
The Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund (DREDF) was founded in 1979 and is one of the leading national civil rights law and policy centers directed by individuals w/ disabilities and parents who have children w/ disabilities. Their mission is to "advance the civil and human rights of people with disabilities through legal advocacy, training, education, and public policy and legislative development."
ADA Homepage
This searchable web site from the U.S. Department of Justice contains a myriad of information regarding the ADA including status reports, settlement information, and technical assistance materials.
Americans with Disabilities Act Document Center
This website contains copies of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 documents, as well as links to information concerning disability issues and legal issues concerning occupational health and safety and Total Quality Management.
Blindness Resource Center- The New York Institute for Special Education
A collection of resources for disabilities (in particular blindness and deaf-blindness) put together by the New York Institute for Special Education.
Disability Statistics Center- Cornell University
From the Cornell University in Ithaca, New York, the DSC web site contains statistical information on different disabilities and the status of people with disabilities (including statistics on education attainment, annual household income, employment rate, etc.).
National Federation of the Blind
The National Federation of the Blind is the largest organization of the blind in America (though interested sighted people may also join). Founded in 1940, the Federation has grown to include more than ten percent of the nation's blind (over 50,000 members).